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1. Working group name:

Retail Establishments

2. Individual sponsor(s): 

Jennifer DeLett-Snyder, Executive Director, Join Together Northern Nevada, and Chair of the Nevada Statewide Coalition Partnership
Mona Lisa Samuelson – Marijuana Advocate
Riana Durrett, Executive Director, Nevada Dispensary Association

3. Describe the recommendation:

Any employee of a recreational retail marijuana establishment will be required to take a marijuana education course in order to obtain a marijuana agent card. This course must meet the minimum standard requirements as determined by the Division, and be a minimum of 2.5 hours of training. A certification of successful completion must be submitted with the marijuana agent application. 

Training for recreational retail staff to include (as revised from Alaska’s policies):
· Clinical Effects of Marijuana on the Human Body 
· Methods of Identifying Impairment 
· Methods of Refusing Entry or Sales to Intoxicated Persons 
· Applicable State and Local Laws – Tailored to Jurisdiction 
· Preventing Unlawful Consumption 
· Minors 
· Preventing Entrance of Minors
· Preventing Selling, Consumption or Possession by Minors
· Recognition of False or Altered Identification

In addition, the existing Nevada Dispensary Association’s training may be improved by expanding on the topics below: 
· SECURITY: Define Loitering Prevention Methods – How can employee help?
· ENTRY: How to diffuse threatening or aggressive persons
· PATIENT EDUCATION: Cannabinoids & Terpenes – explain in depth, training program doesn’t provide much
· PATIENT EDUCATION: Impact on effects - expand on each impact
· CAUTIONS: Add impaired driving
· LAB TESTING: Explain soil amendments
· PATIENT ABUSE: Change title in existing education to read “Marijuana Abuse” Explain to employees why they may suspect marijuana abuse and signs of drug dependency. If referring to web for treatment, include local resources and brochure or handout. SAMHSA, Substance Abuse Mental Health Services Administration, has a treatment locator and toll-free number (https://findtreatment.samhsa.gov/ )

Recommendations based on best practices used in other states and used in Nevada for beverage servers for all employees:
· Obtain a marijuana agent card only after completing mandatory, standardized training  (Alaska has a marijuana handler permit that can serve as a reference)
· Employees 21 and older only
· Mandatory background check
· No felons or anyone convicted of the misdemeanor of selling alcohol to minors
· ID verification made prior to admittance to product area
· No sales to anyone under 21 – licensees are prohibited from selling, giving, or distributing retail marijuana products to persons under 21 years of age
· Age verification device - sales clerk required to enter government issued ID card into age verification system at register to complete transaction at point of sale 
· Retail establishment with dual use (medical and recreational) provides a minimum of one employee trained specifically to work with medical marijuana patients – answer questions, provide insight
· Compliance checks conducted by law enforcement – penalties to employee and store for sales to minors
· Prohibit providing free marijuana products without a purchase

4. Which guiding principle(s) does this recommendation support?

Guiding Principle 1 – Promote the health, safety, and well-being of Nevada’s communities

Guiding Principle 3 – Ensure that youth are protected from the risks associated with marijuana, including preventing the diversion of marijuana to anyone under the age of 21

Guiding Principle 6 – Establish regulations that are clear and practical, so that interactions between law enforcement (at the local, state and federal levels), consumers, and licensees are predictable and understandable
5. What provision(s) of Question 2 does this recommendation apply to? 

 Sec. 2.    Preamble.   In the interest of the public health and public safety, and in order to better focus state and local law enforcement resources on crimes involving violence and personal property, the People of the State of Nevada find and declare that the use of marijuana should be legal for persons 21 years of age or older, and its cultivation and sale should be regulated similar to other legal businesses. 

(d) Selling or giving marijuana to persons under 21 years of age shall remain illegal;
(e) Individuals will have to be 21 years of age or older to purchase marijuana;


6. What issue(s) does the recommendation resolve?

This recommendation resolves access to anyone under 21 years of age.

7. Was there dissent in the group regarding this recommendation?  If yes, please provide a summary of the dissenting opinion regarding the recommendation.

Not known

8. What action(s) will be necessary to adopt the recommendation?  Will statute, policy, regulations, etc. need to be addressed?

Regulations regarding training and personnel will need to be modified to apply to the retail establishments.

9. Additional information (cost of implementation, priority according to the recommendations, etc.).

[bookmark: _GoBack]The Department shall be tasked with maintaining a list of certified marijuana agent trainers. Companies wishing to train marijuana agents may submit an application including curriculum, instructor qualifications, background investigation on all instructors and an application fee. (Recommend $500 to align with Alcohol Awareness Certification. Fees collected will cover the Division’s expense of qualifying trainers and maintaining integrity of the programs.) If this is too much of a burden on the Department of Taxation, this could be managed by Postsecondary Education, similar to the management of the beverage server training.
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